Tags

, ,

I used the Aragon Bag pattern by Sarah Lawson to make a diaper bag that Riley’s Dad wouldn’t mind carrying. I added a detachable strap that is long enough to go cross body, freeing his hands for more important things.

The back of the bag and lining fabric

The back of the bag and lining fabric

I really wanted to lineup the motif on the front pocket and flap with the background. I needed four of this repeat to make it work; one for the back of the bag, one for the background on the front, one for the pocket and the last one for the flap.

The snap on the wrong side of the flap.

The snap on the wrong side of the flap.

On the first attempt, I managed to cut and sew everything so that it matched, but then attached the snap facing the wrong way. There wasn’t another panel of this motif on the fabric yardage I had, but luckily my LQS still had it in stock. I got another yard of fabric and remade the flap with the snap on correctly. The flap didn’t line up as well the second time, but I am willing to live with it.

Everything lined up with the snap on correctly

Everything lined up with the snap on correctly

All finished

All finished

A look at the inside

A look at the inside

Niece #2 liked the diaper bag so much that I made one for her from the same pattern. I used this gorgeous Amanda Carona fabric on the outside and a plain navy and white stripe for the lining and accents.

Fabric and Pattern

Fabric and Pattern

Finished bag for Niece #2

Finished bag for Niece #2