Tags

, , ,

Nephew #2 welcomed his third daughter in April. They already have plenty of baby quilts from the first two girls, so this time I made big girl quilts for the older sisters.

I wanted the quilts to be different, but since they are sharing a room with twin beds, the quilts needed to go together. So I chose different patterns using the same fabrics.

Ali’s quilt is a traditional Rail Fence pattern with 1/2″ white sashing.

Ali's quilt top on the design wall.

Ali’s quilt top on the design wall.

Over all loops and flowers quitling

All over loops and flowers quilting

More of the quilting

More of the quilting

The back

The back

The label

The label

For Avery’s quilt, I cut a bunch of 10″ squares. Then I cut them in half, making two 5″ x 10″ blocks. Then I cut one of those in half making two 5″ squares and so one, with each cut I kept one block and cut the other in half. The final cut made two 2.5″ squares. Then I mixed them up and randomly re-assembled the blocks into 10″ squares using 1/2″ sashing.

Avery's quilt in process

Avery’s quilt in process

Completed top on the design wall

Completed top on the design wall

Matchstick quilting with the walking foot

Matchstick quilting with the walking foot

More quilting

More quilting

The label

The label

The patterns are distinctly different but by using the same fabrics and 1/2″ white sashing, they look pretty good together.

Ali's Quilt artistically draped

Ali’s Quilt artistically draped

Avery's Quilt artistically draped

Avery’s Quilt artistically draped

