Tags

I managed to make some progress on Dancing Nine-patches this week.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I finished all the grid work using my walking foot. To add a little interest, I did not stay inside the lines. Some of the grid is over the blocks and some of it extends out into the sashing. I decided to put free-motion bubbles in the sashing. They are actually “Pebbles” except they are big and mostly round so I am calling them bubbles.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I tend to drift smaller and tighter as I make “Pebbles” across large areas. For this quilt, I want to make sure to keep a more bubbly look with lots of big round cicles. I marked some random circles here and there using an empty thread spool and a water soluable marker. This should help keep the scale of the bubbles consistant across the whole quilt. Then I filled in around the marked circles.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It is working out pretty well. Here is how it looks from the back without the marks. My camera just doesn’t like black on black so it is a bit difficult to see. Click on the photo to see it larger.

I am linking this post with Leah Day’s Free Motion Friday.

