Tags

, ,

My friend Julie Hacala is doing me a hugh favor by helping me study for my quilt appraisal certification. We have been meeting one evening a week for about a year now. Julie has graciously allowed me to wonder freely through her extensive quilt collection. I wanted to do something to show her how much I appreciate her generosity. What better way to thank a quilt buddy than to make her a quilt!

This quilt hangs on the wall in Julie’s home and she has mentioned from time to time that she would like to have a reproduction of it. Julie and I think it was made some time in the mid-nineteenth century. Most likely, just before the Civil War.

As you can see, this was once a magnificant quilt with lots of bright colors and high contrast. The block is listed in the Brackman Encyclopepia as “Wild Geese”. But, this arrangement of blocks is unique. Neither of us has seen it before.

Civil War Quilt - full view

Civil War Quilt – full view

Civil War Quilt - close up

Civil War Quilt – close up

Civil War Quilt - very close up

Civil War Quilt – very close up

For Julie’s quilt, I am using Civil War reproduction fabrics. Here is what I have so far:

My Civil War Reproduction Quilt

My Civil War Reproduction Quilt

I was working on this quilt at a retreat last weekend with members of the Ann Arbor Modern Quilt Guild. Brenda Ratliff of Pink Castle Fabrics was there. She had a sample pack of “Simply Style” fabric, a new line by Vaneaa Christenson coming out in a few weeks from Moda. Brenda needs a sample quilt to promote the new line for her shop. One thing lead to another, and we decided to make an updated version of my Civil War reproduction quilt.

We enlarged the half-square triangles from 1.5 inches to 3 inches and this is what we came up with:

Modern version

Modern version

Brenda posted some photos on Instagram (justabitfrayed). We received some pretty positive feedback. Earlier this week, I met with Brenda and Jason at Pink Castle and – keep your fingers crossed – if all goes well, we should have a pattern available on Pink Castle Fabrics soon.

I am looking for pattern testers. Is anyone interested?

